top of page

Favorite crime movies

Crime movies are my favorite type of movies, the problem is, must people don’t like them since they normally consist of the same plot: people get murdered and a detective needs to find who did it.

Still, there are some movies that, even though they have a similar storyline, they also have a little twist, which makes it more interesting, and here I will talk about 3 of my favorite ones and leave a small list of other movies that I also like.

1. Zodiac (2007)

In the late 1960s/early 1970s, a San Francisco cartoonist becomes an amateur detective obsessed with tracking down the Zodiac Killer, an unidentified individual who terrorizes Northern California with a killing spree.

This movie was based on a true story and I must say it was amazing. It’s the type of movie that has you the whole time trying to find out who the murderer is, the suspense is amazing and the actors such as Robert Downey Jr, Jake Gyllenhaal and Mark Ruffalo are on point. If you are a crime/suspense movie lover this one is just right for you.

Duration: 2h 37 min

2. Cape Fear (1991)

A convicted rapist, released from prison after serving a fourteen-year sentence, stalks the family of the lawyer who originally defended him.

I must say, I didn’t expect to like this movie since it’s a little old, but after watching it I was surprised to have liked it a lot, I have never watched a movie with a storyline like this one and I was really impressed with it. It’s the type of movie that has you on the edge of your seat the whole time. And we have to admit Robert De Niro is a great actor.

Duration: 2h 8min

3. Se7en (Seven) (1995)

Two detectives, a rookie and a veteran, hunt a serial killer who uses the seven deadly sins as his motives.

This movie has the same director as Zodiac (David Fincher) and that’s probably why I also liked it so much.

When I read what the movie was about I was really confused as to how it was going to be, but Fincher took crime movies into a whole other level. From beginning to ending I was so into it. Although some scenes might be a little grotesque it is totally worth watching, the actors such as Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman, just as the other two movies were also amazing.

Duration: 2h 7min

Those 3 movies are my favorites, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t any more good crime movies, I’ll leave a list of other movies you should also consider watching.

  • Hangman (2017)

  • Jigsaw (2017)

  • Prisoners (2013)

  • The Invisible Guest (2016)

  • Collateral (2004)

  • The Captive (2014)

  • The Call (2013)

  • Don’t Breathe (2016)

So, what movie are you watching next?

-SM

All movie descriptions were taken from: http://www.imdb.com/

WHO ARE WE?

We are just 11 basic friends, who love to hang out and do basic stuff.
bottom of page