top of page

Spring Holiday Style

Swimwear

I always have a hard time finding swimsuits that flatter my body and make me feel good about myself. Not all swimsuits feel and look the same on everyone so I encourage you all to go on the hunt, even if it's a bit of a struggle, to truly find something you're comfortable in. The best advice I could give you is: if you're shopping in a real life store, try on your swim pieces before buying them; even if something looks just as right (size-wise), you never know if you'll like the look of it on yourself. Always remember that nothing looks the same on a hanger than on a body.

If you're shopping online, try to measure yourself. Measure your height, waist, hips, chest, etc. And afterwards, look at the size charts of your selected pieces. Try to opt for the size that best matches your measurements.

Here are some of my favorite styles that tend to fit various body types.

Dotted Bikini Top
Printed Onepiece
Printed Punge Bikini Top

 

Hats

Hats are essential for all beach and pool days. What better way to look styling while blocking the sun from blinding you? Everyone has their own hat style preference. Some people like fedoras, others long detailed hats and so on. Try to find your own preferred style and buy it in a flexible color that can match with a lot of different outfits. Here are some of my picks.

Rose Tattoo Straw Hat
Straw Wide-Brim Fedora
Boater Hat
Texturized Straw Hat

 

Cover-Ups

No one likes getting out of the pool and staying wrapped in a towel for the rest of the day. For this very reason we turn to cover-ups. I personally love buying multiple cheap cover-ups because not all of my swimsuits match one same piece. I regularly use a kimono if I'm at the beach or at the pool and I know that I'm going to be getting in and out of the water. I guess they're a little more practical. When I know that I'm going to go to dinner or do something a little more important after the pool, I tend to choose less of a revealing cover-up (perhaps a dress or long shirt). Here are a few ideas.

Midi Cover-Up Slip
Beach Wrap Skirt
Printed Kimono
Culotte Pant

 

Sandals

When on a tropical vacation, you tend to want to feel more "free" shoe-wise. I personally try to ditch and leave my sneakers at home; I just have a weird feeling of wanting to be barefoot or almost barefoot. Surprisingly, nowadays we have the cutest sandal styles ever. As you can tell, I'm a bit obsessed with lace up sandals. There's something about them that catch my attention so much.

Rocketed Flat Sandal
Mustard Lace-Up Sandals
Gladiator Lace-Up Sandal
Strappy Sandal

 

These are all of my favorite picks this year. I hope these pieces inspired you all and got you all excited to put together new outfits and rock spring 2018. See you in my next post!

- BD

WHO ARE WE?

We are just 11 basic friends, who love to hang out and do basic stuff.
bottom of page